Committees

The Asian American Bar Association of the Greater Bay Area is composed of 17 different committees. Each committee is in charge of their own events and programming. If you are an active paid member and interested in joining a committee, please contact one of the committee co-chairs below.

CIVIL RIGHTS

The Committee convenes regular meetings, host events and otherwise provides support and leadership for AABA's public interest community. The Committee also assists the AABA Board in making recommendations, formulating strategy, and acting on issues that affect the civil and legal rights of the Asian American community.

Michael Chang
U.S. Department of Education
Office for Civil Rights
michael.chang@ed.gov


Katherine Chu
East Bay Family Defenders

katherine@familydefender.org


Theresa Zhen
East Bay Community Law Center
tzhen@ebclc.org

Upcoming Civil Rights events

  • No upcoming events

COMMUNITY SERVICES

The AABA Community Services Committee (CSC) provides opportunities for attorneys and law students to engage the community through pro bono and service activities. A core component of CSC includes our partnership with the non-profit Asian Pacific Islander Legal Outreach to run monthly pro bono legal clinics in Oakland and San Francisco. CSC also hosts an annual diversity pipeline conference, Legally Asian, which introduces diverse high school and college students to law school and the legal profession. In addition, CSC provides a variety of service opportunities in the Bay Area, including school beautification projects, building restoration, food bank events, environmental clean-ups, and holiday gift-wrapping. We continue to collaborate with local organizations, companies, and bar associations to provide rewarding service experiences for our members and their friends and family.


Stephen Chong
Law Office of Stephen T. Chong
stephen@stchong-law.com


Pamela Chung
Law Offices of Nancy E. Hudgins
pamela.chung.law@gmail.com


Rebecca Tseng
Silicon Legal Strategy

rebecca@siliconlegal.com


Darryl Woo
Goodwin Proctor LLP
dwoo@goodwinlaw.com  

EDUCATION

The Committee develops and coordinates seminars on topics of general interest to the AABA membership. AABA has been approved by the State Bar of California as a provider of Minimum Continuing Legal Education.



Anna Chang
Sideman & Bancroft LLP
achang@sideman.com


Mary Nguyen
Hoge, Fenton, Jones & Appel, Inc.
mary.nguyen19@gmail.com


Michael Nguyen
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
michael.nguyen@apks.com


Patricia Tsai
Weaver, Austin, Villeneuve & Sampson LLP
ptsai@wavsip.com

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

IN-HOUSE COUNSEL

The Committee provides Asian American in-house attorneys throughout the Bay Area with opportunities for networking, information exchange, career development, and legal education programs for in-house counsel. The Committee also acts as a resource for AABA members interested in becoming in-house counsel and in developing business relationships with in-house counsel.



Lauriebeth Bugawan
Flipboard, Inc.
lbugawan@gmail.com

Gabriel Lau
Autodesk
gabriel.lau@gmail.com


Sandy Liu
PayPal
sandyyuliu@yahoo.com

Upcoming In-House events

  • No upcoming events

JUDICIARY

The Committee works to promote the appointment of Asian Americans to the federal and state judiciary and other governmental positions, evaluates potential candidates, and identifies and encourages Asian Americans to apply for judicial positions. The Judiciary Committee meets once a month to discuss judicial endorsement requests and Committee activities. Members are expected to participate in vetting candidates requesting AABA’s endorsement, which includes a review of materials, an in-person interview of the candidate, contacting references and participating in Committee, Board and other meetings to discuss the endorsement recommendation. We strive to maintain a diverse membership and invite new members based on a holistic assessment that takes into consideration the following factors: 1) length of time in the practice of law; 2) proven commitment to AABA, volunteer work or strong indication of capacity and ability to make the expected time commitment; 3) size of law firm or practice; 4) types of employment and types of specific interests represented by law practice or employment (e.g., in-house counsel, public, private, litigation, plaintiff or defense, etc.); and 5) commitment to diversity. If you are interested in joining the Judiciary Committee, please contact the co-chairs.


Alice Liu Jensen
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
JensenA@sec.gov

Catherine Lui
Orrick, Herrington and Sutcliffe LLP
clui@orrick.com

Mark Punzalan
Chan + Punzalan
mark@chanpunzalan.com

LAW STUDENTS

Erin Park
UC Hastings College of the Law
erin.park@uchastings.edu


Philip Tacason
UC Hastings College of the Law
tacason@uchastings.edu


Tar Rakhra
UC Berkeley School of Law
tar.rakhra@berkeley.edu

LGBTQ

Founded in 2013, the AABA LGBTQ Committee provides all AABA members with: (1) opportunities and tools to address specific challenges that Asian-American LGBTQ law students, attorneys, and judges experience in the legal profession; (2) professional and personal development support; (3) a community that allows for meaningful connections; and (4) support to increase representation of Asian-American LGBTQ members in senior and leadership positions in the legal profession.

LGBTQ


Elizabeth Kim
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
elizabeth.kim@mto.com


Francis Yang
Vinson & Elkins
fyang@velaw.com


Vice Chair
Michael Nguyen
Wong & Rees LLP
mnguyen@wongrees.com


Vice Chair
Raymond Rollan

Hayward City Attorney's Office
raymond.rollan@hayward-ca.gov

Upcoming LGBTQ events

  • No upcoming events

Membership

The Membership Committee is dedicated to expanding AABA's membership base. This includes reaching out to new members at events, planning marketing strategies to recruit new members, and working with other committees to address the needs of AABA members.

Jennifer Choi
Dannis Woliver Kelley
jchoi@dwkesq.com


Jin Im
Harrington, Foxx, Dubrow & Canter, LLP
jim@hfdclaw.com

MENTORSHIP

The Committee matches law students and attorneys each year so that law student mentees can receive advice about coursework, jobs and career decisions from attorney mentors. Students can be matched to either private sector or public interest/government attorneys. The Mentorship Program helps to build a professional AABA network that furthers the career interests of all AABA members. For more information, please contact any of the co-chairs below.

Elizabeth Castillo
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLP
ecastillo@cpmlegal.com

Lenny Huang
Alston & Bird LLP
Lenny.Huang@alston.com


Catherine Ngo
Nossaman LLP
cngo@nossaman.com

Upcoming Mentorship events

NEWSLETTER

The Committee publishes articles with information of interest to members including features about attorneys and judges, articles about legal issues and events that affect the Asian American community, and reports about developments on the state and national levels. To see past AABA newsletters, please go to our Newsletter page.


Kathy Aoki
kathyaok@aol.com


Candice Shih
Hanson Bridgett LLP
cshih@hansonbridgett.com

POST-PRACTICE


Michael Ng
Kobre & Kim
Michael.Ng@kobrekim.com

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
The Committee publicizes job openings, sponsors an annual jobs panel and workshop to help law students with resume writing and interviewing skills, hosts a summer reception for law clerks and employers, and cooperates with community groups and local bar associations to improve employment opportunities for minority lawyers. To see a list of job opportunities, please visit our Jobs page.
 

Kelly Craven
Facebook
kellywcraven@yahoo.com


Aseem Gupta
Salesforce
aseem.gupta@salesforce.com


Irene Yang
Sidley Austin LLP
irene.yang@sidley.com

Upcoming Professional Development events

  • No upcoming events

PUBLIC LAW/PUBLIC SERVICE

The Public Law/Public Service Committee, formed in 2011, promotes the professional development of Asian American attorneys throughout the Bay Area who work in public law or public service by providing a forum for those attorneys to interact and network with each other and with the community at large. The Committee will also act as a resource for AABA members interested in public service and government work and specific legal issues pertinent to this area of practice.



Kimberly Chin
Allen, Glaessner, Hazelwood & Werth
KChin@aghwlaw.com

Keith Fong
U.S. District Court, N.D. Cal.
keith_fong@cand.uscourts.gov


Amit Kurlekar

Upcoming Public Law events

  • No upcoming events

PUBLIC LAW LEADERSHIP ADVISORY COUNCIL
Founded in 2016, the Council brings together senior API leaders in public service law. The Council advises AABA Board and Committee leadership on public service initiatives, serves our senior API public leader community, and is a resource on presidential, gubernatorial, or local leadership appointments.

Carin Fujisaki
Principal Attorney to the Chief Justice of California

Minming Wu
Federal Transit Administration

SOCIAL

The Committee sponsors social events such as the holiday party, receptions for public officials, student-attorney mixers and gatherings with other minority bar organizations to promote friendships and professional ties among AABA members and others. Please visit our Events section to learn about upcoming events.



Josh Chang
Kwan & Olynick LLP
jchang@kwanip.com


Gina Tsai
Fountainhead Law Group P.C.
gtsai@fountainheadlaw.com

Elvin Vu
elvin.vu@gmail.com

Adonica Wada
Varian Medical Systems
Adonica.Wada@varian.com

Upcoming Social Events

SOLO & SMALL FIRMS

Assist AABA members with development of their practice by (i) holding mixers with in-house attorneys and seminars on business development and (ii)promoting and highlighting Asian American owned/ minority owned law firms and encouraging companies to recognize, consider and retain these firms when selecting outside counsel.


Alison Tsao
Carothers DiSante & Freudenberger LLP
atsao@cdflaborlaw.com

Upcoming Solo/Small Firm events

  • No upcoming events

WOMEN'S

Seeks to provide structured support and networking opportunities for AABA's female members and also promotes efforts within the legal profession to increase the representation of women in senior and leadership positions.

Mandy Chan
DLA Piper
Mandy.Chan@dlapiper.com


Merry Jean Chan
Assistant United States Attorney


Jessica Moy
Berman DeValerio
JMoy@bermandevalerio.com

Vice Chair
Christine Start
Solano County Alternate Public Defender

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

ATTORNEY WELLNESS TASK FORCE

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

© 2018 Asian American Bar Association of the Greater Bay Area. All Rights Reserved

P.O. Box 387 San Francisco, CA 94104 | Email us at Info@aaba-bay.com

Please see our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.